Things are moving in the East !

by Erwin Van Hove

10/03/11

A decade ago, even the most knowledgeable pipe connoisseurs were not capable of quoting the name of a single Russian or Ukrainian pipe maker. Since then, things have changed. Radically. Who amongst you hasn’t been open-mouthedly admiring the fascinating creations of Michael Revyagin or the masterpieces of Victor Yashtylov ? And who can still ignore the existence of Russian and Ukrainian pipe artisans now that American and European pipe shops like Smokingpipes, Smokers’ Haven, Quality Briar, NeatPipes, Pfeifenstudio Frank, or la Compagnie des Pipes have started to sell the work of Shekita, Ailarov, Cherepanov, Grechukhin, Ponomarchuk ? And believe me, this is only the beginning. Because behind the Eastern borders of the European Community a tidal wave of new talent is building up.

How can we explain the fact that Russia and Ukraine are so rapidly evolving into a new El Dorado of the pipe ? The reasons are both diverse and logic. After the implosion of the USSR and the unbridled leap towards capitalism that followed, a middle class began to develop and genuine fortunes were made as well. Consequently, a luxury market was born. The work of the most prestigious Scandinavian, German, American and Japanese pipe makers was imported and offered for sale to moneyed customers. Parallelly, the internet spread and was democratised, and hence the Russian and Ukrainian citizens could discover both the images and the prices of the artisan made pipes. Obviously, these images spoke to the imagination, inspired and ended up launching vocations. All the more so as the prices must have spoiled the appetite of the less wealthy pipe fans. That’s why it isn’t surprising that some of them took the decision to attempt to manufacture themselves those pricey objects. A few even must have nurtured the thought that pipe making could become an interesting source of revenue.

Thanks to the internet, these budding pipe makers managed to find out which tools they needed and where to buy high quality materials. Next, the first Russians, like Victor Yashtylov, appeared on Pipemakersforum.com, the online American forum where experienced carvers answer the questions of the novice ones. Some even made the pilgrimage to the Chicago Pipe Show. And since, little by little, Russia became an export market for the European, American and Japanese artisans, these master pipe makers started to attend pipe shows organised in this promising new market. In short, the up-and-coming Russians and Ukrainians began to be in touch with the international pipe elite.

Suddenly, a triumvirate stood out and captured the attention of the most blasé collectors. In record time Victor Yashtylov, Michael Revyagin and Sergey Ailarov became genuine stars of the high grade pipe. And in their wake, a whole bunch of aspiring new artisans began to carve pipes and some of them managed in their turn to get noticed and to build a growing reputation. And this evident success for sure attracts, motivates and enthuses new candidate pipe makers. For proof, it suffices to observe the online forum where dozens of pipe makers established all over the Russian-speaking territory, discuss technique and aesthetics, comment each other’s work, exchange information and advice.

A last factor that explains the recent exponential growth of the number of Russian and Ukrainian pipe makers, is purely an economical one : according to the testimony of several neophyte artisans, it were the economic crisis and the unemployment that pushed them to transform their hobby into a real profession.

It is high time to discover the pipe scene in these two countries that have come to join the small club of pipe producing nations. Mind you, this isn’t exactly a sinecure. First of all, there’s the huge linguistic barrier : most of the pipe makers don’t master any European language and obviously all the websites have to be decoded with translation software. And God knows that when it comes to electronic translations, the computer scientists still have a long way to go ! Moreover, a lot of Russian and Ukrainian artisans neither dispose of retailers who sell their work, nor of a personal commercial website. Therefore, in order to find traces of the existence of the pipe makers who are unknown in the West, one has to browse through blogs, Picasa albums and Russian speaking forums. That’s why, even though the survey I’m on the verge of presenting to you, might seem rather complete, in fact it does in no way pretend to be exhaustive.

1 Pipe related info and forums

Several of my sources agree to point out AIPC, the Armenian International Pipe Club, as THE forum in Russian. And indeed, dozens of Ukrainian and Russian pipe makers are members. One thing is certain : it’s a very active discussion group and the section dedicated to local artisans is an invaluable source of information about what’s happening on the Russian speaking territory. Highly recommended.

Here’s the address of another forum that contains a lot of pipe info, though it clearly pays less attention to local pipe makers.

Among the blogs I found, there’s one that distinguishes itself through the richness of its content and through its beautiful illustrations.

2 Retailers

Undeniably, the number of online pipe retailers in this vast land hasn’t exactly reached its saturation point. Moreover, these businesses seem more interested in pipes imported from all over the world than in the local production. Most of the time they only sell the work of pipe makers who are also distributed in the West, for instance Ailarov, Shekita, Grechukhin, PS Studio.

http://artisanpipes.com/sale/Russian.shtml
http://www.tabachok.ru/
http://www.pipeshop.ru/
http://www.pipes.su/index.php

http://gevorg.net/, the only retailer I personally did business with, seems to be the exception that confirms the rule : they sell the work of pipe makers like Nazarenko, Aivazovsky, Savenko, Ryzhenko, Brishuta, Berezhnoy I didn’t find elsewhere. Besides, the owner is a passionate pipe fan who is very active in the AIPC forum. The communication in English with a charming and helpful employee went smoothly, rapidly and efficiently. Furthermore, this business accepts Paypal payments and proposes watertight guarantees. Recommended.

3 Pipe makers

How should I present them to you ? I could do it in an alphabetical order and overwhelm you with biographical data. But is it really that interesting to learn that X was born in Chechnya, but currently works in Moscow or that Y was an electrician before he became a pipe maker ? It seems much more interesting to discover the work of these artisans and to have an idea about the quality of their production. Hence, I’ve chosen a double approach. Rather than writing comments, I’ll show some images that are representative of the style and the craftsmanship of each pipe maker. Moreover, I’ve allowed myself to classify these pipe makers in five categories, which will, at least I hope so, give you an indication on their rank in the hierarchy.

By definition, this kind of classification is neither definitive nor perfectly objective. I’m well aware it is debatable and in certain cases it might even seem unjust. That’s why it is necessary to present to you the criteria I used to define the categories.

  1. top
    Pipe makers who are part of the international elite. Their technique and aesthetics are top notch. They’re considered by their pears and by the knowledgeable collectors as star carvers.
  2. high grade
    Pipe makers whose work shows a genuine command of pipe shaping and an unmistakable aesthetic sensibility. They work with high quality briar and only use hand made stems. Their execution, fit, finish and bits are, or will soon be, of a quality that is similar to that of the international competition in the high grade niche of the market. Hence they have the potential to compete sooner or later with the high grade artisans from Scandinavia, Germany, the USA,…
  3. mid grade
    A category that is both larger and less strictly defined. It contains pipe makers who are promising but not yet skilful enough to guarantee a technical and aesthetical quality that is constantly high ; those who go for an attractive price/quality-ratio rather than for excellence ; those who deliver technically proper work, but whose sense of aesthetics is not always convincing ; those who use premolded stems ; those who make respectable pipes in briar that presents obvious visible flaws, and so on. In short, these are capable pipe makers, but who neither offer the formal mastery nor the quality of execution and of finish one expects from a genuine high grade pipe.
  4. factory made pipes
    This is plain and simple : these are pipes that haven’t been made by an artisan, but by anonymous workers in a factory.
  5. amateur work
    Real debutants who still have to make a huge progress, and those who apparently don’t have the talent, the tools or the high quality materials that are necessary for a professional career in pipe making.

Now that this is clear, let’s discover without further ado the parade of thirty-nine pipe makers living in Russia or Ukraine.

1 Top

Sergey Ailarov

Michael Revyagin

Victor Yashtylov

2 High Grade

Armen Aivazovsky

Yuri Aksenov

Sergey Cherepanov

Vladimir Grechukhin

Alexey Kharlamov

Roman Kovalev

Nikolai Kozyrev

Maxim Nazarenko

Aleksander Ponomarchuk

Andrey Savenko

Konstantin Shekita

Valeriy Shevchenko (Yabuhebi)

Boris Starkov

3 Mid Grade

Sergei Akimov

Alexander Berezhnoy

Alexander Brishuta

Valery Chapkovsky

Sergei Demin

Stanislav Kamensky

Leonid Kobychev

Eugeni Looshin

Alexander Penkov

André Peschke

PS Studio

Valeriy Ryzhenko

Alexandr Saharov

Sergey Sakirkin

Zinovi Seniak

Artem Shcherbak

Vladimir Zlobin

4 Factory made pipes

Golden Gate

5 Amateur work

Sasha Gavrison

Andrei Orlov

Rodiin

Ruslan Sharyga

Alexander Ulitin

At the end of this survey, can we conclude that there is a recognizable Russian-Ukrainian style ? The answer is neither simple nor unambiguous. It can’t be denied that within the international pipe scene, Revyagin’s avant-garde designs, Shekita’s patiently carved briars or Kharlamov’s reptile-pipes stand out by their exuberant creativity and highly original character. But it clearly is impossible to claim that these individualists personify a national style. The work of Grechukhin visibly borrows from the classic Danish style ; certain Kovalev pipes are the spitting image of Roush shapes ; Cherepanov carves Nordh-like Ramses pipes ; Yashtylov has been inspired by shapes created by Negoita or Gotoh. In short, the Russians and Ukrainians don’t live on an island and fatally undergo the influence of the international elite. However, even if strictly speaking there’s no typical Russian-Ukrainian style, I have to admit that certain recurrent elements strike me.

Probably due to the fact they don’t own a blasting cabinet, several artisans have concentrated on rustication techniques and have developed innovating rustication and carving methods that result in original and visually pleasing effects. Besides, various pipe makers demonstrate a rather exceptional mastery of woodwork and, in addition, they’re not afraid to spend the extra hours these virtuoso rustication and carving techniques must cost them. Could it be these Stakhanovists have to make the best of visually mediocre briar blocks ?

The English love silver bands. The Germans are fond of boxwood decorations. The Russians and Ukrainians seem to favour horn shank extensions. That’s another stylistic characteristic that strikes me. But the feature that, to me, best defines the Russian-Ukrainian aesthetics and sensibility, is the lust for roundness : an insatiable fascination for sensually spherical shapes. The Russian quintessential pipe is a voluptuous apple. That’s why I consider Sergey Ailarov to be the most Russian of all Russian pipe makers. He is indeed the unrivalled champion of the unlimited variations on the apple theme. And whether his apples are straight or bent, whether they’re slender and refined compositions or, on the contrary, compact and chubby nose warmers, they systematically exude an equilibrium and a harmony that are near perfection. In der Beschränkung zeigt sich der Meister, said Goethe. And with the Russian master the less is more-principle never results in an icy minimalism : his gracious and appealing shapes with impeccable proportions, his lively stains, his resplendent finishes incite to shameless hedonism.

Russia and Ukraine balance between the iconoclastic universe of Revyagin and the contemporary classicism of Ailarov. That is to say that the lack of national style is largely compensated for by an eclecticism that can only be qualified as captivating by whoever makes the effort to explore the breeding ground of an ever-growing herd of various talents.

If at the end of this article, you feel the urge to get acquainted with the work of some of the pipe makers I presented, I have the pleasure to announce that shortly I’ll submit a sequel in which I’ll share with you my personal experiences with the Russian and Ukrainian pipes I recently imported.

Ca bouge à l'est !


par Erwin Van Hove

07/03/11

 

English version

 

Il y a dix ans, même les pipophiles les plus connaisseurs étaient incapables de citer ne fût-ce qu’un seul nom de pipier russe ou ukrainien. Depuis, les choses ont changé. Radicalement. Qui parmi vous n’a pas encore admiré, bouche bée, les déconcertantes créations de Michael Revyagin ou les chefs-d’œuvre de Victor Yashtylov ? Et qui peut encore ignorer l’existence d’artisans-pipiers russes et ukrainiens maintenant que des commerces américains et européens tels que Smokingpipes, Smokers’ Haven, Quality Briar, NeatPipes, Pfeifenstudio Frank, voire la Compagnie des Pipes se sont mis à distribuer des pipes de Shekita, Ailarov, Cherepanov, Grechukhin, Ponomarchuk ? Et croyez-moi, ce n’est qu’un début. Parce que derrière les frontières Est de la Communauté Européenne se prépare une vague déferlante.

Comment se fait-il qu’à une allure vertigineuse la Russie et l’Ukraine sont en train de se transformer en un nouvel El Dorado de la pipe ? Les raisons sont à la fois diverses et logiques. Après l’implosion de l’URSS et la course effrénée au capitalisme qui s’en est suivie, d’une part une classe moyenne a commencé à se développer et d’autre part de véritables fortunes se sont constituées. Par conséquent y est né un marché du luxe. L’œuvre des plus grands pipiers scandinaves, allemands, américains et japonais a été importée et proposée à une clientèle de collectionneurs et de passionnés nantis. Parallèlement l’internet s’est répandu et démocratisé, ce qui a permis aux citoyens russes et ukrainiens de découvrir à la fois les images et les prix des pipes d’artisan. Evidemment, ces images ont fait rêver, ont inspiré, ont fini par susciter des vocations. D’autant plus que, si toutes ces photos alléchantes ont créé bien des envies, les prix, eux, ont dû couper l’appétit du pipophile aux moyens financiers limités. Il n’est donc pas étonnant que certains aient décidé de tenter de fabriquer eux-mêmes ces objets inabordables. D’aucuns ont même dû se dire que la pipe pourrait bien devenir une source de revenus intéressante.

Grâce à l’internet, ces pipiers en herbe arrivaient par ailleurs à s’informer sur l’outillage nécessaire et à acheter des matières premières de qualité. Et puis, les premiers Russes, comme Victor Yashtylov, sont apparus sur Pipemakersforum.com, le groupe de discussion américain où des pipiers chevronnés répondent aux questions des novices. Certains ont même fait le pèlerinage au pipe show de Chicago. Et comme, petit à petit, la Russie est devenue un marché d’exportation pour les artisans occidentaux et japonais, ces maîtres-pipiers ont commencé à se rendre aux pipe shows organisés dans ce marché prometteur. Bref, les jeunes loups russes et ukrainiens se sont mis à côtoyer la fine fleur du paysage international pipier.

Voilà qu’un triumvirat s’est démarqué et a capté l’attention des collectionneurs les plus blasés. En un temps record Victor Yashtylov, Michael Revyagin et Sergey Ailarov sont devenus de véritables stars de la high grade. Et dans leur sillon, toute une ribambelle d’aspirants-pipiers se sont mis au travail, dont certains, à leur tour, ont fini par se tailler une place au soleil et par jouir d’une renommée grandissante. Et ce succès de plus en plus évident attire, motive et enthousiasme de nouveaux prétendants, d’autant plus que désormais est né un forum en ligne où toute une série de pipiers établis aux quatre coins du vaste territoire russophone discutent de technique et d’esthétique, commentent les œuvres des uns et des autres, échangent des informations et des conseils.

Un dernier facteur qui explique la récente croissance exponentielle du nombre de pipiers russes et ukrainiens, est d’ordre purement économique : selon les témoignages de plusieurs artisans néophytes, ce sont la crise économique et le chômage qui les ont poussés à faire leur métier de ce qui, avant, n’était qu’un simple hobby.

Il est grand temps de partir à la découverte du paysage pipier dans ces deux nations qui viennent de rejoindre le cercle restreint des pays producteurs de pipes. Remarquez que ce n’est pas exactement une sinécure. Loin s’en faut. Tout d’abord, il y a une barrière linguistique de taille : la plupart des pipiers ne connaissent aucune langue occidentale et évidemment tous les sites web sont à déchiffrer au moyen d’un logiciel de traduction. Or, Dieu sait qu’en matière de traduction électronique, les informaticiens ont encore du pain sur la planche ! Et puis, bon nombre des artisans russes et ukrainiens ne disposent ni de détaillants qui commercialisent leur œuvre, ni d’un site web de vente. Pour trouver des traces de l’existence de ces pipiers inconnus en Occident, il faut donc partir à la recherche de blogs et d’albums web Picasa, et fouiner dans les forums russophones. Bref, même si l’aperçu que je m’apprête à vous présenter, peut sembler passablement complet, en réalité, il ne prétend nullement à une quelconque exhaustivité.
 

1 Info pipière / Forums
 

Plusieurs de mes sources se rejoignent pour désigner l’AIPC, l’Armenian International Pipe Club, comme LE forum en langue russe. Et en effet, des dizaines de pipiers russes et ukrainiens en sont membres. Une chose est sûre : c’est un groupe de discussion très actif et la section consacrée aux pipiers locaux est une inestimable source d’information sur ce qui bouge sur le territoire russophone. A découvrir.
http://www.pipe-club.com/

Voici par ailleurs l’adresse d’un autre forum bien étoffé, mais qui accorde une attention moins marquée aux pipiers locaux.
http://www.pipeclub.info/

Parmi les blogs que j’ai pu trouver, il y en a un qui se distingue par la richesse de son contenu et par ses belles illustrations.
http://capstan-tobacco.livejournal.com/
 

2 Commerces
 

Décidément, toute vaste qu’elle soit, la terre russe n’est pas exactement infestée de civettes en ligne. En plus, ces commerces semblent s’intéresser davantage aux pipes venues des quatre coins du monde qu’à la production locale. La plupart du temps on n’y trouve que des pipiers qui sont également proposés en Occident, par exemple Ailarov, Shekita, Grechukhin, PS Studio.

http://artisanpipes.com/sale/Russian.shtml
http://www.tabachok.ru/
http://www.pipeshop.ru/
http://www.pipes.su/index.php

http://gevorg.net/, le seul commerce avec lequel j’ai personnellement fait affaires, est l’exception qui confirme la règle : on y trouve des pipiers comme Nazarenko, Aivazovsky, Savenko, Ryzhenko, Brishuta, Berezhnoy introuvables ailleurs. Par ailleurs, le propriétaire est un passionné qui est très actif dans le forum AIPC. La communication en anglais avec un interlocuteur charmant et serviable s’est déroulée sans problèmes et de façon rapide et efficace. En plus, ce commerce accepte les paiements Paypal et propose des garanties qui semblent en béton. Recommandé.
 

3 Pipiers
 

Comment vous les présenter ? Je pourrais le faire dans un ordre alphabétique et en vous bombardant de données biographiques. Mais est-ce vraiment intéressant d’apprendre que X est né en Tchétchénie mais officie désormais à Moscou ou que Y était électricien avant de devenir pipier ? Il me semble autrement plus passionnant de découvrir l’œuvre de ces artisans et d’avoir une idée sur la qualité de leurs produits. J’ai donc opté pour une double approche. Plutôt que de rédiger des commentaires, je privilégie les images représentatives du style et de la maîtrise de chaque pipier présenté. En outre, je me suis permis de classer ces pipiers en cinq catégories, ce qui vous donnera, du moins je l’espère, une indication sur la place qu’ils occupent dans la hiérarchie.

Il va de soi que ce genre de classement n’est ni définitif, ni parfaitement objectif. Je me rends bien compte qu’il est discutable et que dans certains cas il peut paraître injuste. Il est donc nécessaire que je vous présente d’emblée les critères selon lesquels j’ai défini les catégories.
 

1 quintessence
Les pipiers qui jouent à échelle internationale dans la cour des grands, tant au niveau esthétique que technique. Ils sont considérés par leurs pairs et par les collectionneurs avertis comme des vedettes incontournables.

2 high grade
Les pipiers dont la production trahit une vraie maîtrise des formes et une évidente sensibilité esthétique. Ils travaillent avec de la bruyère de qualité et font leurs tuyaux à la main. Leurs montages, finitions et becs sont, ou seront bientôt, d’une qualité similaire à ce que propose la concurrence internationale dans le créneau dit high grade. Ils ont donc le potentiel de concurrencer tôt ou tard les pipiers haut de gamme scandinaves, allemands, américains etc.

3 mid grade
Une catégorie plus large et moins strictement définie. On y trouve les pipiers prometteurs mais qui ne sont pas encore suffisamment chevronnés pour garantir une qualité technique et esthétique constante, ceux qui visent avant tout un bon rapport qualité/prix sans aspirer à l’excellence, ceux qui livrent du travail techniquement correct mais dont le sens esthétique est parfois peu convaincant, ceux qui emploient des tuyaux préfabriqués, ceux qui font des pipes respectables mais dont le bois n’est pas exactement exempt de défauts visibles, etc. Bref, il s’agit de pipiers capables mais qui n’offrent ni la maîtrise formelle ni la qualité d’exécution et de finition qu’on est en droit d’attendre d’une vraie haut de gamme.

4 industrielles
C’est simple, clair et net : il s’agit de pipes qui n’ont pas été faites par un artisan, mais par des ouvriers anonymes dans une fabrique.

5 travail d’amateur
Les pipiers vraiment débutants qui ont encore d’énormes progrès à faire et ceux dont le manque de vrai talent ou de matières premières de qualité visiblement ne les prédestine pas à une carrière professionnelle.

Ces explications faites, passons sans tarder à la parade de trente-neufs pipiers établis en Russie ou en Ukraine.

 

1 Quintessence

Sergey Ailarov

(http://www.ailarov.com/)
(interview : http://www.ailarov.com/index.php?action=get_content&cont_id=5)
 

 

Michael Revyagin

(http://mrpipes.ru/)
 

 

Victor Yashtylov

(http://www.pipeatelier.spb.ru/)
 

 
 

2 High Grade

Armen Aivazovsky

(http://www.briar.ru/)
 

 

Yuri Aksenov

(http://picasaweb.google.com/117305324068218746644)
http://www.radikal.ru/USERS/yakslon/pipes?pg=44
 

 

Sergey Cherepanov

(http://cherepanov-pipes.ru/)
 

 

Vladimir Grechukhin

(interview : http://pipedia.org/index.php?title=Grechukhin)
 

 

Alexey Kharlamov

(http://artisanpipes.com/sale/charlamov.shtml)
 

 

Roman Kovalev

(http://www.doc-pipes.com/)
 

 

Nikolai Kozyrev

(https://picasaweb.google.com/101037294820080615170)
 

 

Maxim Nazarenko

(http://gevorg.net/index.php?cPath=25_161_173)
 

 

Aleksander Ponomarchuk

(http://www.smokingpipes.biz/)
 

  

 

Andrey Savenko

(http://savenko.okis.ru/)
 


Konstantin Shekita

(http://www.shekitapipes.com/)

 

 

Valeriy Shevchenko (Yabuhebi)

(http://yabuhebi.livejournal.com/)
 

 

Boris Starkov

(http://pipedia.org/index.php?title=Starkov)
 

 

3 Mid Grade

Sergei Akimov
 

 

Alexander Berezhnoy

(http://gevorg.net/index.php?cPath=25_206_211)
 

 

Alexander Brishuta

(http://gevorg.net/index.php?cPath=25_214)
 

 

Valery Chapkovsky
 

 

Sergei Demin
 

 

Stanislav Kamensky
 

 

Leonid Kobychev

(http://artisanpipes.com/sale/mym.shtml)
 

 

Eugeni Looshin

(http://pipe.looshin.ru/index.php?lang=en)
 

 

Alexander Penkov
 

 

André Peschke
 

 

PS Studio

(http://www.pipeshop.ru/index.php?id_groups=657)
(http://gevorg.net/index.php?cPath=25_203_207)
 

 

Valeriy Ryzhenko

(http://gevorg.net/index.php?cPath=25_145_179)
 

 

Alexandr Saharov

(http://alexandr-saharov.ru/?page=ecatalog)
 

 

Sergey Sakirkin
 

 

Zinovi Seniak

(http://seniakpipes.ucoz.com/)
 

 

Artem Shcherbak

(http://shcherbak.at.ua/photo)
 

 

Vladimir Zlobin
 

 

4 Industrielles

Golden Gate

(http://gevorg.net/index.php?cPath=24_43_174)
(http://stores.ebay.com/Fine-Ukraine/Golden-Gate-/_i.html?_fsub=1953599016&_sid=913257266&_trksid=p4634.c0.m322)
 

 

5 Travail d'amateur

Sasha Gavrison

(http://gavrison-pfeifen.com/)
 

 

Andrei Orlov
 

 

Rodiin

(http://rodiin.ucoz.ru/)
 

 

Ruslan Sharyga
 

 

Alexander Ulitin
 

 

Au terme de cet aperçu, pouvons-nous conclure qu’il existe un style russo-ukrainien reconnaissable ? La réponse n’est ni simple ni univoque. Il est incontestable qu’au sein du paysage pipier international, le langage formel avant-gardiste de Revyagin, les bruyères patiemment ciselées de Shekita, les pipes-reptiles de Kharlamov se démarquent par leur débordante créativité et par leur caractère foncièrement original. Mais on ne peut sûrement pas dire que ces individualistes incarnent un style national. L’œuvre de Grechukhin emprunte visiblement au style BCBG danois ; certaines Kovalev ressemblent à s’y méprendre à des Roush ; Cherepanov taille des Ramses ; il est arrivé à Yashtylov de s’inspirer de modèles de Negoita et de Gotoh. Bref, les Russes et les Ukrainiens ne vivent pas sur une île et bien évidemment subissent l’influence de l’élite internationale. Et cependant, même s’il n’est pas question d’un véritable style russo-ukrainien à proprement parler, je dois avouer que certains éléments récurrents me frappent.

Probablement faute de cabines de sablage, plusieurs artisans se sont concentrés sur les techniques de guillochage et ont développé des méthodes de rustication novatrices qui aboutissent à des effets visuels originaux et du plus bel effet. D’ailleurs, divers pipiers font montre d’une maîtrise du travail du bois assez exceptionnelle et, en outre, ne rechignent pas devant les heures de travail supplémentaires que doivent leur coûter ces virtuoses procédés de sculpture et de ciselage. Serait-ce dû au fait que ces stakhanovistes sont condamnés à œuvrer avec de la bruyère de piètre qualité ?

Les Anglais aiment les bagues en argent. Les Allemands ont une prédilection pour les décorations en buis. Les Russes et les Ukrainiens, eux, semblent favoriser les extensions en corne. Voilà une autre caractéristique stylistique qui me frappe. Mais la particularité qui, à mes yeux, définit le mieux l’esthétique et la sensibilité russo-ukrainiennes, c’est la soif des rondeurs, c’est la fascination jamais assouvie devant les formes sensuellement sphériques. La boule voluptueuse dans toutes ses déclinaisons, voilà la pipe russe par excellence. C’est pourquoi j’estime que le plus russe de tous les pipiers russes, c’est Sergey Ailarov. Il est en effet le maître incontesté des intarissables variations sur le thème de l’apple. Et que ses apples soient droites ou courbes, qu’il s’agisse de compositions élancées et raffinées ou au contraire trapues, sous forme de brûle-gueules, elles respirent toujours un équilibre et une harmonie qui frisent la perfection. In der Beschränkung zeigt sich der Meister, disait Goethe. Et chez le maître russe, le principe du less is more ne risque jamais d’aboutir à un minimalisme glacial : ses formes à la fois gracieuses et gourmandes, aux proportions irréprochables, ses teintes chaudes, ses finitions chatoyantes incitent à un hédonisme sans réserves.
 

 

Entre l’univers iconoclaste de Revyagin et le classicisme contemporain d’Ailarov, la Russie et l’Ukraine balancent. C’est dire que l’absence de style national est largement compensée par un éclectisme qui ne peut être qualifié que d’enrichissant pour quiconque prend la peine de partir à la découverte de cette cohorte toujours grandissante de talents divers.

Si au terme de cet article, vous ressentez l’envie d’apprendre à mieux connaître l’œuvre de quelques-uns des pipiers présentés ici, j’ai le plaisir de vous annoncer que sous peu je vous soumettrai une suite dans laquelle je vous ferai part de mes expériences personnelles avec les pipes russes et ukrainiennes que j’ai récemment importées.